top of page

Undiagnosed

I live in Canada. Our health care is covered. With the exception of Physio and a chiropractor ( which I could so use right now) I am 39. I am not over weight. I eat gluten free (that I self diagnosed as I was having problems with my stomach and volia I feel so much better despite what is happening now)

I just don't understand how some doctors obtained their degrees.

I have had health issues since August. We are now January.

I have been to multiple doctors. All having a different diagnoses or coming up drawing a blank.

Seriously. One had the audacity to say it was anxiety.

I said to him that another Dr. suggested possible fibromyalgia and was sending me for nerve testing. He says you say fibro I say anxiety I put you on anti depressants WIN-WIN.

(Supposibly the same meds that treat anxiety help with fibro)

I said what---NO WIN/WIN. I am NOT taking meds.

I am not anxious or displaying anything related to that.

(I have had anxiety when I was younger I overcame it. Mind over matter not drugs)

To anyone who suffers anxiety. I feel for you. Honestly.

I asked him if he was saying this because I am female. If I was a male would he treat this differently. I haven't went back to him since and don't plan to.

He didn't check out anything that I was complaining about he sat there in front of me like some therapist.

I had made a list of my symptoms. He said they were too sparatic, That there is no way I am feeling this bad because I looked good on the outside. Blood pressure normal, all blood work normal.

And that is why kiddies we don't judge a book by it's cover seriously....I look good.

Here is what I was and still am experiencing.

It started off with an eye infection, not a typical one this lasted 2 months with my right eye swelling shut. My vision was blurred and I had headaches and was super dizzy. I couldn't walk a straight line. I was seriously considering carrying a flask so people would just think I was drunk, that's how bad it was. I didn't drive anywhere because I didn't trust my judgement.

First Dr. It's a stye.

Second Dr. You have verigo, severe vertigo and a stye but to be sure I will refer you to an eye dr. (Eye dr. It's a really bad infection behind the eye ball, not a stye, he put me on 2 rounds of antibiotics and drops----Bad viral infection)

After 2 months of feeling like I was on the tilt a whirl I headed back to the clinic.

This Dr, sent me for heart testing. (not sure why) That came back excellent which I already knew was a waste of time. Said yep vertigo. Take it easy. Get some gravol.

2 weeks later I trudge back to the clinic my eye swollen, I can barley stand, Both arms and hands numb and tingling, body pain/weakness, nausea. (super bad)

She sends me for an MRI saying possible MS.

MRI comes back clear, Now what??? So my question was could this viral infection have caused all this. All but one Dr agreed. But had no other explaination or diagnoses that stuck.

I head to another Dr. expalin everything that is going on, she says it's not anxiety could be possible fibro, sends me for nerve testing. That is still pending as my appt isn't until Feb.

She suggests yoga and meditation, over the counter stuff to relieve the pain at this point my whole body aches, I can barly walk let along climb the stairs, I couldn't grip things and was so damn tired. Still the numbness and dizziness.

So here I was, confused and in pain.

Went back yet again to a dr via skype (yes this is a thing)

I explained that I was having back pain and the numbness was getting worse.

There were days when it took everything I had in me to climb the stairs.

She sent me for a back xray. (still waiting for results)

And wrote a note saying I was unfit to stand therefore I cannot work. (I work in retaill and don't have an option to sit down; I have been off work since August)

To date the dizziness has subsided, my eye is ok, I am still doing stretches and exercise, But the numbness oh the numbness that isn't going away.

My back aches all the time, Sometimes it feels as though I am being burned with a cigarette then I get that shock feeling when I walk. My shoulders burn. Advil doesn't help. Still have muscle weakness.

I started taking magnesuim and I think that is what helped the dizziness. (I read that a dificiency could cause these symptoms- Even though my blood was tested and in "normal" range, what is normal for one isn't necessarily normal for another)

You would think that with all this technology someone would fugure this out and give me a proper diagnoses. I know my body, I live in it. I have been healthy all my life. No wonder people use google, seriously.

So many people have things that you cannot see on the outside.

Too many people are being diagnosed with anxiety.

Speak up, keep on trucking, keep going back to dr's. Don't give up. Eat healthy, excerise in moderation. Breathe. Listen to your body, you know it best. If it doesn't feel right chances are there is something wrong. I am not taking no for an answer. I know how I am feeling, I know it's not right. I know this because I have missed so many days of work and quality time with my daughter because something feels wrong. No this isn't anxiety, My mood through this hasn't changed, I remain strong and focused. I am a single parent. My daughter needs me and I have to stay strong for her.

I have been reading forums where people have been experiencing symptoms like me and like me have no diagnoses. If I ever figure this out I will keep you posted.

Update: I went for an xray on my lower back turns out I have what is called bone spurs, Jagged bones to be more specific. The Dr. thinks this may be the root of my pain and all these other symptoms. Yet I won't know for sure as I was suppose to get nerve testing done and that has been rescheduled till who knows.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page