top of page

Single vs solo


Understanding the difference between saying something and living it

Parents please note the following as it seems that there are those that do not comprehend the concept.

Some are using this out of term out of context.

You cannot refer to yourself as a Single or Solo parent if your partner supports you and the kids. You share the same home. And especially if the other parent comes back and participates.

Understand that there is a difference between saying something and living it.

Single and Solo mean two different things;

A single parent is usually considered the primary caregiver. The parent the child(ren) have residency with the majority of the time.

If the parents are separated or divorced. The children live with their custodial parent. They have visitation or a secondary residence with their noncustodial parent.

Single parenting is still having the father in the picture.

Solo parenting is just that SOLO. Parenting all by yourself. 24/7.

Doing the job of two. NO CHILD SUPPORT/NO HELP. Nobody coming home.

A thing done by one person unaccompanied.

Whether your partner is not in the picture by choice or you are widowed facing this alone you are a solo parent.

I AM a solo parent, My ex does NOT contribute.!

I started off the first 6 months of my daughters life with my partner at home. Then from 6 months to when she turned 4 I was a Single parent as we separated and he was in and out of her life.

From 4 to present (she's 12) my status changed to Solo. As he has absolutely nothing to do with her. Zip Nadda. No support!

The reality is that solo parenting is often stressful, demanding, and hectic. Parenting in general is.

When it's just yourself with no partner these stresses double everything is magnified with the weight of responsibility sitting squarely on your shoulders. I play good cop/ bad cop everyday which sometimes makes me feel like I have a split personality!

Being a solo parent can be overwhelming. It has also made me a stronger person.! I am not looking for a pity party by all means, I just want some respect and consideration. Be thankful you aren't in my position. Embrace the fact that you have a partner helping you. Be more aware when using these terms especially to a parent who does this everyday of their lives. I cringe every single time I hear "oh I am a single/solo parent this week" or when my single Mom friend complains when her ex can't take their kid that night. Be thankful the other parent is in the picture, be appreciative that your child is loved and wanted by them.

To all the parents out there doing this ALONE like me Kudo's!!

We all have different ways we parent.

One thing I hope we all agree on is That we should always encourage your child(ren).

Always stay positive, and always tell them you love them.

Whatever category you fall under we are all parents.

We should support each other. We all have our issues, We all human, We all make mistakes and we all grow.

As long as your child are well taken care of. As long as he or she is not neglected or abused then does it really matter if they had pizza for breakfast?

Teach, nurture and be present for them. With any luck they will turn out just fine. I am sure we can all can relate that we do stress and worry but remember we are all trying to get this parenting thing right. It's not always going to be easy, But it will be worth it!!

We are all entitled to the occasional meltdown. We as adults have bad days so expect that your kids will too. We are all human.

It is ok to say no sometimes. They will get over it.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page