top of page

Life as a Woman raising a girl:

I am not your "typical" girl.

I don't own 50 pairs of shoes. I own 3 pairs of shoes -running- winter boots and rubber boots.

I don't like to be pampered. I hate shopping--yes not every female likes to shop despite of the stereotypes.

I hate dresses and do not own one.

I don't fuss over make up or my hair.

I accept what I cannot change.

I basically live in jeans and running shoes.

I am not a feminist.

I do not get offended easily.

I do not use my gender as an excuse either.

I own up to my mistakes. We all make them.

I take responsibility.

She is 12, Soon to be entering her teen years as of April. She is responsible.

She keeps her room clean...(I mean eat off the floor clean--not that I would ever do that.) I never had to instill a bedtime or curfew as she would be well in bed by 8. She's up by 7 on her own for school and never sleeps in on weekends, always an early bird as she feels she's wasting her day. ( I however love sleep) Never had to tell her to do her homework as she never procrastinated and did it right away. As a child I hated school, I was the princess of procrastination!

She even goes to school on snow days (our schools don't close--buses just stop running) When I was a kid I embraced a snow day and slept in! She does chores without being asked. ( I hated chores and still do!)

She isn't mean spirited. She always shows respect to everyone she meets. She says I am too outspoken. *She complains that I swear a lot.

Her and I are polar opposites. That's ok because we harmonize each other well. She loves being pampered, loves fashion and make-up.

I let her make decisions, I give her choices, I strongly believe in being your own person and using your own mind.

Don't get me wrong--we have our moments--every child and parent does. As long as she continues to shine in the world I don't let the occasional whirlwind define who she really is.--As adults we have bad days so I'd expect her to also.

I don't keep up with the Jones' or the Smith's or hell even the Kardashians.

I don't sugar coat anything and I don't give a crap if you don't like me.

But that is ok. It's OK because I own my feelings. I don't make excuses for myself or my daughter.

I am trying to teach my daughter; Not to put too much thought into what others think. Are you happy? Are you ok? Is it hurting anyone? No--Then their opinion means nothing.

So you want to wear mismatched socks and a pair of leggings. Are you comfortable? Do you feel good wearing them? GOOD.

Most importantly : This is what I instill in my daughter:

ALWAYS BE YOURSELF. We can't all be Barbie or big wigs, we each have our own place on earth. We are not beneath anyone. Cab drivers, waitress's, retail folk.

We all have a job to do and some jobs pay squat and require more of ourselves than most people will understand. Live within your means.

We all want to see the best in others or at least try. Keep positive and supportive.

Stay humble. We shouldn't judge each other. We should support each other. We all have our issues, we all human, we all make mistakes and we all grow.

My daughter reminds me to just breathe, and smell the roses rather than walk by to take a moment and really see things for what they are and the beauty within.

My daughters favourite saying: "Keep your smile on".


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page